Once Upon A Time. . . .

Two and a half months into marriage, I am finally getting an opportunity to sit down and write it all out. The last year has been quite the whirlwind so I thought it best to do a brief recap of who I am and why I am here, journaling my story.

I have spent the last 6 years as a single mom, raising two boys in this crazy world. We lived with my parents while I finished my degree, a Bachelors in Liberal Arts English, and no, I am not always grammatically correct. The last 6 years were not easy. There were days I wanted to quit everything. I wanted to just hunker down and be a mom. No more school. No more work. No more anything but fun with my boys. But, I know now, as I knew then, that I needed to put on my big girl pants and get it done. So I did. I have made many friends along the way, all of whom are dear to me. I have been exposed to many thoughts and ideals, and many ways of doing life. In the end, I am comfortable with my decisions because I know I made the best choices for me and for my boys.

Anyone who has children will tell you that raising them is trial and error. And, just because you have more than one doesn’t mean they will all follow the same path. Each child is an individual being with his or her own personality, likes and dislikes, preferences, and thoughts. Raising children has been the most in-depth training I have ever experienced. 

And, then I remarried and I added a husband and step-children to the mix. Try coming into a relationship with a child you haven’t been around for his entire life and try getting him to conform to a set routine and structure. It, like many things in life, has not been the easiest. However, it has been incredibly eye-opening and rewarding. I have gained a new perspective on raising children and am now more sympathetic to the struggles that come with blended families. It has only been two months for us but I feel we have gained many years worth of knowledge. I hope that by sharing our story, we will be able to help moms (and dads) who are going through similar situations.

Our Wedding Day. Yes, we were ALL wearing camo!

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
Image | This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

