Thirty-three.

Today is my birthday.

I am officially thirty-three, and that is still somewhat sinking in. So many things have happened in the last thirty-three years that I do not know where to begin. What I do know is that while I was incredibly excited to celebrate my birthday it did not occur to me until just a few moments ago that I am now really ready to begin life and I do not feel like a horrible person for taking my time to be ready. After all, Jesus was thirty-three when he began his ministry. And this does not mean that I have not lived prior to this, just that I feel I can enjoy life now.

I almost feel as though I am at the end of an era. This birthday comes at the end of the fall semester of school. I literally finished my very last finals ever less than a week ago. Yes, I mean ever because I do not foresee myself attending graduate school. I have worked incredibly hard to get to this point. I have managed family obligations, extra curricular activities, and many other things on top of knocking out a four-year degree in just over three years.  It has not been easy, but it has most definitely been worth it.

I honestly do not know if my boys remember a time when I was not in school so I am looking forward to being a real Mommy to them. Speaking of my boys, I went from being Mom to two boys to being Mom to five boys. Yes, in the last year I have finished school (which included a two semester torture session called Capstone), gotten married, and gained three step-sons. As much as I am looking forward to raising my boys to men, I am more so looking forward to creating a home with my husband.

Most importantly, I am looking forward to the future. Several things have been in the works for a while, all of which have been on hold for various reasons; too busy, too chicken, need to finish school, wanting to enjoy my boys. Many reasons, well, excuses have kept me from pursuing things which are important to me.

I watched the trailer for The Pursuit of Happyness recently, a movie I want to see but have yet to actually watch. Will Smith’s character says, “Don’t ever let somebody tell you you can’t do something. Not even me. You got a dream. You gotta protect it.
People can’t do something themselves, they wanna tell you you can’t do it. You want something go get it. Period.” That is what I am doing. I am pursuing my dreams.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

