For I Know The Plans.

Everyone, Christian or not, knows that verse.

Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (NIV)

And everyone knows someone, probably more than one someones, who has known their whole life what they will do and be and everything just works out peachy, exactly as they planned their entire life. I know there are people I went to school with (both high school and college) who seemed to never have a bad day and everything they touch turns to gold. Quite literally for some. Exotic homes, record deals, CEOs, 2.5 kids with a white picket fence and a dog, or travelling the world regularly just to name a few.

It’s really easy to fall into the “but what about me” frame of thinking. Why don’t I have the $80+k/year job? Where’s my big, fancy vacation house in Italy? Where’s my 15 minutes of fame that leads to a lifetime of financial security?

I did that. For a long time I whined to God. How come I had to spend seven years as a single mom? Why can’t I get my book published? Why don’t I live somewhere exotic, like Samoa? Where’s my trip to Haiti? I’ve been waiting on that one for nearly 30 years. Where’s my reality show? Okay not really, but you get the point.

And then it hit me.

For I know the plans I have for you.

For I know the plans I have for you.

I was coveting the lives of other people, even people I don’t know but whose faces show up on television or in magazines on a regular basis (Carrie Underwood’s life anyone?).

But, the Bible says that God has plans for me. Just me. He has plans just for me.

And just for you.

And my path is not going to be the same as someone else’s because I’m not meant to live someone else’s life. I’m meant to live my follow and to follow the life God planned out specifically for me.

Just to be clear, I don’t begrudge my life in any way shape or form. I have the most incredible husband. I am mom (or stepmom) to five boys, three of whom I homeschool. We have a great life! But yes, I am human and as such I have ocassional bouts where I compare my life to those around me. It is in the middle of those that I realize just how amazing my life truly is.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

