Sewing & Shooting.

For a while now, I’ve wanted to learn how to sew. I even asked for a sewing machine for Christmas, which I got. So when Spring Break rolled around I decided to open my Christmas present and get to work.

My first attempt was a badly measured, no pattern used, pair of M&M shorts for my son. Those didn’t work out so well and ended up in file 13. My second project was this cute little, quilted messenger bag. It even came with a pattern, which I’ve learned is so incredibly helpful. However. I’m still learning how to read patterns. Man, those things are intimidating! I got my bag created and now I’m using it for carrying all of my paracord accessory making items. Yes, I make paracord accessories as well.

I forgot to take pictures so this is very close to the one I made. messenger bag

Well I got it all completed, and put together, and useful! I was so proud of myself that I went out an purchased more fabric and patterns. I made it as far as washing, drying, ironing the fabric, and opening the pattern. Woah.

pattern

Fortunately, there’s a local hobby shop that holds classes over reading patterns and how to make sense of all of the nonsense. I plan to make a visit to the shop to learn more about this new hobby of mine.

Speaking of hobbies, I’ve also picked up another new hobby since being married to my hunk of redneck husband. Guns, guns, and guns!

Since getting married my hubby has made it a point to get me more comfortable with weapons. He even bought me a pink and purple camo compound bow for a wedding gift! So this past weekend, Mother’s Day weekend, I spent 10 hours with my husband and about 50+ other people, mainly women, shooting and learning how best to handle various guns.

We shot Glocks, AR-15s, a Revolver, and many other rifles, handguns, and shotguns. In the process, I learned about two different types of competition shooting; 3 Gun and IDPA. I think I’m most interested in getting involved with 3 Gun shooting, but both were a lot of fun! Okay, so it probably helped that I hit all of my targets in both sessions.

3 Gun Nation3 Gun is where the competitor takes 3 different guns; a rifle, a pistol, and a shotgun, and proceeds to shoot targets with each. So I would start with a rifle, aim and hit six targets, run over to the table with the pistol, aim and hit six targets, and then go on to the shotgun, aim and hit six targets. One competition, 3 Guns. And the score is based on the time it takes plus the targets hit.

3Gun_Guns

idpa-square-logo-e1323139280655International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA) is a setup similar to a tactical invasion layout but it’s meant for civilian defense. So I had three targets set up as if I was in a home and people were breaking in and I had to shoot them. Each of those targets ended up with two fatal shots each square in the chest. Okay, so maybe the scenario suggested someone was taking my kids and maybe momma bear came out to make sure that wouldn’t happen.

targetsEither way, I hit all 3 targets in 17 seconds. To be fair, I had to walk between marks and shoot around walls and doorways. Time plays a factor in the scores here as well as the position of the holes in the target. I did okay.

I think I’m finally adjusting to country living!

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

