{Fried | Foods}

“You want me to do what? I don’t know how to cook!”

Famous last words, right?

For so many years I cooked only the things I knew for sure my boys would eat. Our menu regularly consisted of hot dogs, mac & cheese, and french fries, along with a plethora of other kid-friendly food. Yes, I promise there were veggies and fruits involved, but I still only stuck to what I knew they liked.

Then I started dating my now hubby, and taking care of his youngest kiddo after school. I went from cooking only for my boys and myself to cooking for five and sometimes six people. I realized quickly that I needed to make some real progress in the kitchen.

Fortunately, growing up in the south, I have spent my whole life surrounded by people who know how to not only cook, but cook phenomenally well. My mom makes the best fried chicken and homemade pizza. My dad makes the world’s best chili. One of my aunts was a cook on a barge and can make the most amazing homemade pies from scratch.

Also fortunate, is that some of their skills have rubbed off on me. 

So, on that note, I am {by request from one of my most favorite people ever!} sharing my favorite fried foods recipe.

So, to begin with, it doesn’t matter what kind of meat you use. I have used this with chicken, deer, and roast. Each time, it is met with raves by my children. In fact, they tend to get excited at just the mention of my frying anything, especially deer.

Step one: Pick your meat.

Tonight I opted to use a rump roast. My hubby had this idea of thawing it, cutting it into smaller pieces, and then tenderizing it with one of those little hammer things. After he tenderized it, he added some seasonings and let it marinate in {un}frozen orange juice concentrate in the fridge for a few {3-4} hours.

20140523_175540

Rump Roast. Already cut, tenderized, seasoned, & marinated.

Step two: Get ready.

I am very blessed to have a husband {and son} who did my early prep-work for me so I could get some other stuff done around the house. Seriously, if you have kids and the meat you are planning to cook needs to be tenderized, hand that little hammer to a kid and let him or her just have at it!

My getting ready to make fried anything involves getting out my dishes and spices. First and foremost, a cast iron skillet and 100% Canola oil. The type of oil doesn’t overly matter either, we just prefer the taste of Canola.

I then get out two small-sized Tupperware type containers, without the lids. In one container I add 4-6 eggs and anywhere from 1/4 cup to 1/2 of milk. Using a fork, I beat the mixture until it’s a creamy yellow color.

Eggs.

Eggs.

 

Eggs & Milk.

Eggs & Milk.

 

 

 

 

 

In the second bowl, I add flour, Cavender’s Greek Seasoning, What’s This?, salt, and pepper and then, using a fork I stir it up well enough that it almost looks like it’s just flour still. On the salt, sometimes it’s garlic salt, sometimes it’s regular, but it’s always Sea Salt. I just prefer the taste of sea salt over any other.

Flour & Seasonings.

Flour & Seasonings.

Finally, I fill my cast iron skillet about halfway with the oil and turn on the burner to high so that it starts warming up while I get to battering.

Step Three: Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

Okay. I realize we’re not talking about shampoo but battering is a similar concept. First off, don’t be afraid to get dirty! Use your hands. Rinse them multiple times if you need to. But, I can promise you this, no spoon or other gadget is going to get the food covered as well as smooshing it between your fingers.

That being said, pick up a piece of the meat. Go on, it’s okay. I promise it stopped biting a long time ago. Dip it in the egg/milk mixture. Then cover it in the flour/seasoning mixture. And then, do it again. Back into the egg/milk mixture and back into the flour mixture. Your hands will get gross, and will look like they’re all battered and ready to be cooked as well. I promise, it’s really okay.

Batter &then  repeat.

Batter &then repeat.

Double battered & ready for frying.

Double battered & ready for frying.

Batter & then repeat.

Batter & then repeat.

 

Step Four: Get to Cooking.

Once you’ve double battered drop it into the hot oil. Use tongs to turn each piece every once in a while. It will take a few minutes, and the time will vary based on how hot the oil is. Soon, you will have crunchy fried chicken/deer/roast and will have a main course your entire family will love.

 

Don't forget to turn it over so it gets golden all around.

Don’t forget to turn it over so it gets golden all around.

Take it out when it's golden all around.

Take it out when it’s golden all around.

 

I promise. I cannot tell you how picky my own children were {and still are to some extent} but they love this meal.

Unfortunately, I do not have a “finished product” image. I failed to take a picture of the full plate of fried roast before my children devoured it.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

