Quality vs. Quantity.

Quality.

The Christmas card my littlest gave me, and the cards he bought for his class with his own money, because he wanted to.

Snuggled up on the sofa surrounded by warm blankets and laughter of small people.

Taking the extra 2 minutes to just breathe in the crisp morning air as the sun crests the horizon.

A frisky puppy running to and fro unabashedly in the backyard.

Little feet pitter-pattering on the floor at 4am, scared, crawling into Mommy’s bed to keep the monsters at bay.

Not-so-small hands helping in the kitchen, learning to cook and read recipes, and then a face beaming with pride at the end results.

Quantity.

Waiting in line for the latest, newest, most upgraded i-whatever, in the rain for 3 days, just because you gotta have it, even though your current one is only 6 months old and works perfectly.

Begging for something just because your friend has it, coveting what your friend has because it looks cool when they do it, never mind the fact you won’t ever use it.

Having so many clothes you require 2 closets just for yourself, and you keep shopping for more, even though you are very well taken care of.

Buying your child the toys on the “top 10” list of Christmas “must-haves” to keep him busy and out of your way so you can socialize, stare at your phone, or work just a few hours more, and bring in just a few more bucks, at the cost of your child feeling worthless.

Which means more?

Personally, I’ve spent quite a bit of time processing the differences between Quality and Quantity. It began with Facebook. I share a lot of posts, things I like or agree with. Very rarely do I post my own thoughts on a subject, or on what’s going on in life. I don’t want to be that person who likes and shares everything. I actually unfriend people like that, especially if they are constantly negative or there’s language. Why would I want to be someone I don’t like? And then I started looking at real life situations.

It boils down to this. 

I want my kids to remember my face, not the top of my head. I want them to know how proud I am of them and how happy they make me. I want them to have memories that involve me and not just what I’ve bought for them. I want them to experience life and not just let life pass by. This means more to me than getting them the newest gadget. I want to instill a love of life and travel and dreams! Oh, I want them to dream and believe they can do anything. I am their biggest cheerleader and I want them to remember that I always believed in them.

No matter what.

I want my legacy to them to be one that is positive, encouraging, strong, hardworking, dreaming, and believing.

About Jenn

I am first and foremost a child of the one true King. I am a teacher, a student, a chauffeur, a cheerleader, a coach, a nurse, and a plethora of other things. I am a mom. I am a wife. I am loved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

